Hacker targets Mac fan blogs
Tuesday November 27, 2007 at 6:16 am CST
Posted by Harish Garg
A self-proclaimed Mac user is targeting Mac fan blogs. He has already defaced 2 famous Mac related blogs.
http://www.applematters.com/
http://iphonematters.com/

In his own words ” I’M A MAC USER. I JUST HAVE A STRONG DISTASTE FOR MAC SYCOPHANTS.”
This is possibly the first time a hacker is targeting Mac related websites. This is interesting month for the Mac user base, with multiple Trojans/malware appearing along with a horde of security updates from Apple itself.
Things are definitely heating up in Mac Land!
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Update Nov 28th <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
Seems that this defacement may in fact be a hoax:
http://www.applematters.com/index.php/section/comments/sincere-apologies/
http://www.applematters.com/index.php/section/comments/a-bad-pr-stunt/
http://www.glennwolsey.com/2007/11/28/what-really-happened-sincere-apologies/
Pretty odd any way you look at it. Also after a bit more digging we came across another Apple defacement (there are a few more with some Googling):
http://networks.silicon.com/webwatch/0,39024667,39158606,00.htm?r=1

November 27th, 2007 at 06:47
Really? i dont belive this.. i think its a viral market.
The defacer says “This website has been flagged for excessive Apple fanboism, and has been taken down for 24 hours.”
Why the site admin or the webmaster dont delete the index?. One of them are hosted in blogspot of google…WTF?
November 27th, 2007 at 07:27
There is no relation between the fake codes (malware) and the idiot that has chosen to deface Mac related websites. Malcor could just as easily have chosen to deface Republican or Democratic websites.
November 27th, 2007 at 09:54
Accoring to the owner of the domain: “applematters.com”, the hacking of the domain was in fact a publicity stunt and therefore a hoax.
This is stated and explained in the new post: “A Bad PR Stunt” which can be accessed at:
http://www.applematters.com/index.php/section/comments/a-bad-pr-stunt/
The “iphonematters.com” domain has not yet been updated and as a result remains “hacked”. However, one can conclude by the owner of “applematters.com” (Hadley Stern)’s statement that this was also a hoax.
—————————————————————————————————–
d4rkr1d3r
November 27th, 2007 at 12:08
Applematters is claiming it was a hoax.
http://www.applematters.com/index.php/section/comments/a-bad-pr-stunt/
November 28th, 2007 at 01:17
Looks like it was just a bad PR stunt:
http://www.applematters.com/index.php/section/comments/a-bad-pr-stunt/
November 30th, 2007 at 10:04
glennwolsey.com and macapper.com are hosted by Media Temple while applematters.com is hosted by pMachine. It seems that the former (eg Media Temple) was in on the hacks while the latter put an end to it in